2019 Election Results

NZMA Elections 2019 closed at 4pm Thursday 4 April - thank you to everyone who voted.

Our thanks to each and every candidate who was nominated as this is an important part of the democratic election process.  

The following NZMA elected positions come into effect at the AGM on 21 May 2019

Italics indicate those who terms have not ended or those who were elected unopposed:


NZMA Chair

Kate Baddock


NZMA Deputy Chair

Harvey White


NZMA Board Member

Jan White, Magnus Cheesman, Joshua Freeman, Michael Chen-Xu and Jibi Kunnethedam

Buzz Burrell, Ruth Spearing, David Galler and Alistair Humphrey


General Practitioner Council

Jan White (Chair), Buzz Burrell, Marcia Walker, Stephanie Taylor, Vanessa Weenink and Luke Bradford


To view the Doctors-in-Training and Specialist Council members go here.


Notes on 2019 NZMA Election Process

  • NZMA uses an independent organisation Simply Voting, for the election process.
  • Simply Voting uses third-party audit & certifications and secure certification voter-verified results.  
  • Over 2000 organisations use Simply Voting including: European Society of Cardiology, University of Minnesota and Medecins Sans Frontières.