Medical Leader And Health Champion Deservedly Recognised

Dr Peter Foley, a Hawke's Bay General Practitioner and past Chairman of the New Zealand Medical Association (NZMA), has been deservedly recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for his outstanding contribution to strengthen our nation’s health services.

Dr Foley, who is now the Chief Medical Officer of Primary Care for the Hawke's Bay District Health Board and Deputy Chair of the Health Quality & Safety Commission (HQSC), has received the Member NZ Order of Merit for his services to health.

“The NZMA is delighted that Dr Foley’s leadership skills, initiative and unwavering commitment as a health champion have been recognised with this award,” says NZMA Chair Dr Paul Ockelford.

“Dr Foley served as Chair of the NZMA for two terms and worked tirelessly to represent the medical profession and patients. As NZMA Chair he raised awareness of a wide range of issues, including the need to address medical and wider health workforce shortages, ensuring the delivery of quality healthcare, improving health equity and advocating for better end of life care.”

Prior to his four years at the helm of the NZMA (2007-2011), Dr Foley chaired the NZMA General Practitioner Council for four years.

“Dr Foley has had a high profile in the health sector and is well respected for his vast knowledge and leadership attributes. He has a clear vision of improved integration of health services and stronger multidisciplinary health teams working to deliver optimal care for patients in their communities.”

“While a strong advocate on the national and international stage, he has also balanced this commitment with his practice as a GP in the Hawke's Bay looking after his patients.”

“He has continued to be very active in the health sector since his tenure as NZMA Chair ended and has been appointed to a number of roles, including that of Deputy Chair of the HQSC, where he is able to impart his knowledge and skills to improving the quality of health care.”

Last year Dr Foley received an NZMA Fellowship, which is awarded to NZMA members who have given service above and beyond normal duty for the NZMA. In 2006 he received the NZMA Chair’s Award, the organisation’s highest standing award, for his services to both the NZMA and health sector.