Dr Ashley Bloomfield Receives The New Zealand Medical Association's Highest Award

The New Zealand Medical Association’s presented the Chair’s Award to Dr Ashley Bloomfield at an event held at NZMA House, on Tuesday evening, 1 December in Wellington.

“I am truly delighted to present this to Ashley, who as well as been our colleague is a trusted and steadfast health leader,” said Dr Kate Baddock Chair of the NZMA, who presented Dr Bloomfield with the NZMA’s highest award.

From his time at the World Health Organisation in 2011,through to  a number of senior leadership roles within the Ministry of Health and District Health Boards, Ashley has led in a measured, methodical and motivational manner - fitting for the person at the helm of the Ministry of Health, the Director General of Health and the person who has stood between New Zealand and the COVID-19 storm.

Ashley’s health leadership has led him to become a household name known the length and breadth of New Zealand by both health professionals and the wider public.  


The Chair’s Award is the NZMA’s recognition of individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the health of New Zealand. Past recipients include Professor Frank Frizelle, Dr Robin Youngson, Dr Paul Hutchison, Dr Russell Wills, Dr Sharad Paul and Professor Swee Tan.  

For more information

Contact NZMA's Communication Manager

Diana Wolken