2021 Rehabilitation Medicine Society of Australia and New Zealand 5th Annual Scientific Meeting (RMSANZ 2021)

22-25 June 2021

Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, Queensland, Australia

Tuesday 22 - Friday 25 June 2021

The theme for RMSANZ 2021 is Forging Alliances – New Horizons. This theme speaks to the unfolding and expanding possibilities, as well as the collaborative and inter-disciplinary nature of contemporary rehabilitation practice both in the hospital setting and in the communities.

The program aims to showcase the breadth and depth of latest scientific research and provide opportunities for RMSANZ members and our colleagues from allied health, nursing, community partners and related medical specialties to share knowledge, skills and experiences, to network, and to enjoy all the attractions that Gold Coast has to offer.

74th Annual General and Scientific Meeting of the New Zealand Society of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery

9–12 November 2021

You are warmly invited to attend the 74th NZSOHNS Annual Scientific Meeting in Taupō ​at Wairakei Resort & Conference Centre from 9–12 November 2021.

The scientific committee has organised a world class academic programme that covers all the subgroups of otolaryngology, head and neck Surgery. The committee has invited international and national experts to participate in the meeting. A wonderful social programme is organised by the social committee that delegates and their partners will enjoy.

Visit the conference website:

Sustainable Healthcare and Climate Health Aotearoa Conference 2021

22–23 June 2021

The Sustainable Health Sector National Network, the University of Otago, OraTaiao and Global Green and Healthy Hospitals are delighted to announce that the two-day Sustainable Healthcare and Climate Health Conference Aotearoa will be held on 22–23 June 2021.  

The conference will be open to anyone interested in ensuring New Zealand moves ahead with urgency to a low emission, resilient and equitable health system. Delegates will include clinicians, nurses, doctors, policymakers, researchers, architects, consultants, sustainability champions, operational managers, suppliers, procurement agencies, board members and students—anyone who wants to create a healthy planet with healthy people.

The new Public Sector target has created a sense of urgency to accelerate our work which will now be better informed by what we have learned from our experience of the current pandemic. As a result many more of us have started to think differently about our world and this will be reflected in the conference themes of re-visioning, regenerating and reconnecting.

Chair's Award

The Chair’s Award is the NZMA’s highest standing award. It is awarded annually to an individual, group or organisation that, in the view of the Chair, has made an outstanding contribution to the health of New Zealanders, the health sector or the medical profession. This contribution may have occurred during the year in question or over a longer period of time.


Professor Frank Frizelle


Dr Innes Asher


Dr Robin Youngson


Dr Antonio Fernando


Dr Paul Hutchison, Former MP and Chair of Parliament's Health Select Committee


Dr Russell Wills, Children's Commissioner


Dr Sharad Paul


David Meates for leading the Canterbury District Health Board in its community response to the earthquake in February


Dr Tony Baird


Dr Peter RobertsDr Tim Malloy

NZMA Fellowships

NZMA has traditionally awarded Fellowships to current NZMA members who have provided long and distinguished service to the NZMA. This service may have been at local or national level.


Dr Stephen ChildsDr Wayne MilesDr Peter Chapman-Smith


Dr Mark PetersonDr Joshua FreemanDr Peter Moodie


Dr Aine McCoyDr David Pickett


Dr Tim Baily GibsonDr Sandra Hicks Dr Don Simmers


Dr Paul OckelfordDr Ron Goodey


Dr Sandy RossDr Heather Bowmer


Dr Peter Foley

Honary Fellowships

The NZMA has occasionally awarded Honorary Fellowships to non-members who have provided long and distinguished service to the NZMA.


Rom Colman


Dr Barry Colls