Skip to Content

Specialist Council

Dr Harvey White SPC Chair

Specialist Council

The NZMA’s Specialist Council (SPC) represents the interests of all NZMA members in specialist practice. The SPC has taken on a greater role within the NZMA, especially in light of the membership of the Council being significantly broadened to include representatives of various external organisations such as RANZCOG, RANZCO and RACS. This has enabled the NZMA to provide a stronger political voice, and more effective representation, for specialists.
SPC members: Dr Harvey White (Chair), Dr Deborah Greig, Dr Wayne Miles, Dr Andrew Tie, Dr Rob Carpenter (NZSA representative), Dr Cathy Ferguson (RACS representative), Dr Ian Page (RANZCOG representative), Dr Mark Peterson (Chair, NZMA, ex officio), Lesley Clarke (NZMA CEO, ex officio).


The Specialist Council provides input on a wide range of issues. Recent examples include:

  • Good prescribing practice
  • National Genetic Service
  • Auckland Laboratory Service

It is pleasing to see the Government’s emphasis on clinical leadership and the need for the views of doctors to be considered in decisions about clinical management and service delivery. It is anticipated that more clinical networks will be developed across the regions in the near future.


Member input

The SPC is always interested in hearing from its members about issues that affect them, and welcomes your views. If there is any area you would like us to consider in our advocacy work please email


Important links

Report of the SMO Commission: Senior doctors in New Zealand: Securing the future (PDF)(2009)


New Zealand Medical Journal articles of interest to specialists, include:

(Note: login and password required for accessing NZMJ articles less than six months old)

When does a specialist assume the “duty of care” for a patient? The significance of Case 04HDC13909
Frank Frizelle
7-July-2006 Vol 119, No 1237
[full text] [PDF]  

Palliative Care Partnership—a successful model of primary/secondary integration
Bruce Stewart, Simon Allan, Barry Keane, Bridget Marshall, Jane Ayling, Tai Luxford
22-Sept-2006 Vol 119, No 1242
[full text] [PDF] [abstract