The NZMA Board provides governance and policy for the NZMA. It comprises the Chair and Deputy Chair, up to five elected members, as well as the chairs of the General Practitioner Council, Specialist Council and Doctors-in-Training Council. Elections for the NZMA Board are held every two years.


Mark Peterson

Dr Mark Peterson, Chair

Dr Mark Peterson previously held the roles of NZMA Deputy Chair and Chair of the NZMA General Practitioner Council. A graduate of Otago University, Dr Peterson has worked as a general practitioner in the Hawke’s Bay for 25 years where he is also Chief Medical Officer Primary Care with the local district health board. Dr Peterson is a past Chair of the General Practice Leaders Forum (GPLF) and is currently a Board member of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners. In these roles he has served on a wide range of sector advisory groups. 

Dr Stephen Child NZMA

Dr Stephen Child, Deputy Chair

Dr Stephen Child is a Canadian-trained general physician with a respiratory interest who immigrated to New Zealand in late 1991. He worked in Dargaville for two and a half years before moving to his current role as the Director of Clinical Training at Auckland District Health Board in 1994. He sits on a number of national, regional and local committees with a vision to improve education and training of junior doctors and thereby ensure that New Zealand has a medical workforce that is well staffed and capable to look after its future medical needs. Dr Child is also the Chair of the NZMA Auckland Council. 

Dr Kate Baddock NZMA

Dr Kate Baddock, Chair, General Practitioner Council

Dr Kate Baddock is the Chair of the NZMA General Practitioner Council. She is a General Practitioner in Warkworth and also Deputy Chair of the new Waitemata PHO. Dr Baddock gained her medical degree at the University of Otago and currently works as a partner at Kawau Bay Health with five other general practitioners in Warkworth. She teaches undergraduate medical students, postgraduate doctors and registrars in General Practice training programmes. Dr Baddock considers general practice her ideal job and says the best moments in medicine are when you know you've made a difference. 


 Dr Scott Metcalfe

Dr Metcalfe is a Wellington-based public health physician, working as Chief Advisor Population Medicine and Deputy Medical Director for the government medicines funding agency PHARMAC, with longstanding leadership in clinical epidemiology and health economics. Scott is active on the Policy Committee of the NZ College of Public Health Medicine, and the Executive board of OraTaiao: The NZ Climate & Health Council, where he was founding Co-Convenor. Originally an Auckland graduate, he trained in the Wellington region’s hospitals and general practice before public health medicine. Advocacy for best equitable health outcomes for patients and populations is Scott’s priority. 
Dr Wayne Miles - NZMA

Dr Wayne Miles

Associate Prof Wayne Miles is Clinical Head of Waitemata DHB Research and Knowledge Centre, a rural psychiatrist in Rodney and Clinical Associate Professor Department of Psychological Medicine, Auckland School of Medicine. He graduated from Otago Medical School, trained as a psychiatrist (FRANZCP) and as a medical researcher (MD Otago). He has had a number of related governance roles including President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) and Chair of the Council of Medical Colleges in New Zealand. 


Dr Sudhvir Singh

Dr Singh is Chair of the NZMA’s Doctors-in-Training Council. Dr Singh was in the 2011 cohort from Auckland Medical School and was awarded the Rotary Prize as the most distinguished graduate in his class. He is a medical registrar at Auckland Hospital. 

Dr Ruth Spearing NZMA

Dr Ruth Spearing

Dr Spearing is a hematologist and previous Clinical Director in Christchurch. She has been the Chair of the Canterbury Hospitals Medical Staff Association for the since 2003, a position which is elected on a yearly basis. This group, which has a wide-based constitution, has worked very successfully with management to help bring about major changes and improvement in health care and patient safety – things which helped to put the health system in a strong position at the time of the earthquakes. She is an elected member and Deputy Chair of the CDHB Clinical Board. 

Dr Tane Taylor NZMA

Dr Tane Taylor

Dr Taylor is a practising GP working as a consultant to East Tamaki Healthcare Group. Previously he was Chief Clinical Advisor at Raukura Hauora O Tainui. He is a Distinguished Fellow of the RNZCGP, former member of its Board of Education and Council, and was Te Akoranga a Maui chair for six years. He is a Past President of the New Zealand Medical Association Auckland Division. Indigenous health is a key focus; Dr Taylor is working to address inequalities nationally, and internationally as a WONCA member. He has a great interest in undergraduate/postgraduate education and professional standards, and is a GP teacher, PRIMEX examiner, Fellowship and Cornerstone Practice Accreditation assessor. He lectures nationally and internationally on evidence-based integrative modalities. 


Dr Harvey White, Chair, Specialist Council

Prof Harvey White is the Chair of the NZMA Specialist Council and a cardiologist. He gained his medical degree at the University of Otago and currently works as the Director of Coronary Care at Greenlane Cardiovascular Research Unit at Auckland City Hospital, and as Honorary Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of Auckland. He started his career as a House Surgeon at Kew Hospital in New Zealand in 1974 and moved to work at Greenlane Hospital in 1978 as a Cardiology Registrar.