The NZMA Board provides governance and policy for the NZMA. It comprises the Chair, Deputy Chair, up to five elected members, as well as the chairs of the General Practitioner Council, Specialist Council and Doctors-in-Training Council. Elections for the NZMA Board are held every two years.

President: Dr Sue Hayde

The NZMA Council comprises the President, the Board, elected members of the GP Council, Specialist Council, and DiT Council, delegates from local divisions, the immediate past-Chairman, the Chair of the Ethics Committee, the NZMJ Editor, and medical student representation. The Council meets twice a year and its prime roles are to provide advice to the Board and approve the Code of Ethics.

Standing committees

The NZMA has several standing committees including:

    NZMA Staff

    National office staff
    Chief Executive Officer
    Lesley Clarke
    Operations Manager Robyn Fell
    Policy & Stakeholder Relations Manager Sanji Gunasekara
    Communications Manager Diana Wolken
    Marketing Coordinator Jake Norman
    PA / Administrator
    Kerry Rice
    Membership & Database Administrator Julie Hare
    New Zealand Medical Journal


    Editor in Chief
    Professor Frank Frizelle
    Production editor
    Rory Stewart